What the heck is a Vocaloid?

I’ve crawled the internets enough to be familiar with the Vocaloid characters, which I’ve seen mostly through fan art and youtube clips featuring bouncing chibi versions doing caramelldansen.  I always assumed however, that they were simply characters from a manga or anime or video game.  My BF mentioned them to me in passing and realizing I didn’t know what they were, showed me this video:

My reaction:

I’m still not sure 100% what exactly the vocaloids are – from what my boyfriend can tell me they are copyright free idol characters that someone created, and there appears to be software you can buy that you can use to make songs and videos of them in.   The vocaloids are treated like real celebrities even though…they’re fake.   I don’t know who owns them or who puts on these amazing concerts, or how those vocaloids characters on stage are created – screens? Holograms? Projections? ROBOTS??

While this is beyond cool, I also find it extremely freaky.  It’s like someone took an anime plot and turned it into reality.  What’s next, gundams?  Are AIs going to take over the world a la Summer Wars?  Is this really a plot by another intelligent race of beings to infiltrate our society through music, the web and popular entertainment???

Until I figure all that out, I’ll probably just watch a couple more videos and marvel over it all, lol.

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Around the Web, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

