I hate Scumbag Sony.

Okay, so I don’t really hate Sony.

I just freakin’ hate the Playstation Network.

Because I am no longer lucky enough to own a working PS1 with which to play Harvest Moon: Back to Nature (remember my goal of playing all the Harvest Moon games in order?), I was delighted to find out that you can download the game to the PS3.  We just so happen to have a PS3 (it was a birthday gift for my brothers a few years back; it lives on the TV stand as little more than a glorified DVD player) so I decided to buy it.  Well, the internet at our house is lame so none of our consoles are hooked up to it.  Every so often I decide to hook the Wii up to the net to download a game.  It does a quick update and then I just select the game I want to download from the store and BOOM, I’m done.   I hooked up the PS3 with the same expectations.

First there was an update, I was expecting that. Then I had to download the store.  Then I had to install it.  Then it wanted to update the store that it had just downloaded.  Finally (about an hour and a half after I started) I got into the store and found the game I wanted, and added it to my cart – when I was then informed that I had to make an account to continue.  They wanted my age, my full name, address, zip, email (WTH all they going to do with all this info??).  I had to click through two pages of user agreements.  About halfway through all this I had to leave to do something else (because I, you know, have a life) and when I got back the session had timed out and I had to start from the beginning with entering my info.

FINALLY,  around two hours after I started, I got my account made and found the game I wanted.  I also decided to buy two other games I’ve been meaning to get (Harvest Moon: Save the Homeland and Innocent Life) because there is very little chance I will ever be hooking the PS3 back up to the net.

It can just sit there with it’s out of date system and feel sorry for itself.

Posted on November 20, 2012, in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

